Things Around the Web

13 08 2007

I wasn’t online very much over the weekend, so this morning before work I spent a little time reading a bunch of my favorite blogs and news sites.

I thought I’d share some of the interesting things in my Monday web-romp.

1. Post Secret.

This is a weekly read for me, and this week Frank put up a small movie telling about his Post Secret experience over the past few years. The music (“Breathe Me” by Sia) is beautiful and haunting

I’m always amazed and moved by Post Secret.

2. A Curious State of Affairs entryThink Zebra

This post by Jan (aka J9) really made me think. . . .I recommend you go and take a (full) read. . . A very very worthwhile message. Thank you Jan.

To paraphrase some of my favorite parts of this entry:

I was misdiagnosed for over two years before eventually being told I had Chondrosarcoma (a very rare form of primary bone cancer). . . .there is a term we have coined. . . that describes what doctors frequently do; they look for Horses when they should be open to seeing Zebras.

What I mean by that is, the doctors tend to look for common causes of pain. . . rather than opening their minds to the less usual Zebra (Cancer). Looking for horses, instead of horses AND zebras, can have dire consequences for the patient . . . It can mean that a tumour that could have been successfully removed and result in a good long term prognosis, can end up not being diagnosed in sufficient time to prevent it from causing permanent damage, sometimes leading to amputation, disability or death. It’s that serious.

. . . .never accept a Horse if your gut instinct is telling you Zebra! It’s your body, it’s your life, it may be your funeral – get a second opinion. There’s no law against it!

3. Giant 8 Foot Lego Man Washes Up on Dutch Beach

Just because this is a fun little story, and that no one knows where this chappie came from!

Full story at REUTERS here

My buddy NewHoosier blogged about our Lego friend too

4. Feline Grim Reaper!

A US cat that is reportedly able to sense when a nursing home’s residents are about to die is baffling doctors. Oscar has a habit of curling up next to patients at the home in Providence, Rhode Island, in their final hours.

According to the author of an article in the New England Journal of Medicine, the two-year-old cat has been observed to be correct in 25 cases so far.

Read Full Story HERE on BBC News

Actions

Information

2 responses

13 08 2007
J9

Glad you liked the Zebra blog.

I’ve heard about animals that sense death before – I read somewhere they smell it. That is when someone is dying their body chemicals change and there is a smell that only animals finely tuned noses can discern. It would make you feel mighty nervous if he followed you around, wouldn’t it?

13 08 2007
Joey

I agree totally!!!!

Leave a Reply

