When to Tip?

1 08 2007

Earlier this week when I was on http://www.passiveaggressivenotes.com they posted a entry about tipping that can be found here. Take a read of how passionate people got with their replies! Even I entered a reply!

This is what I wrote. . . .

 

its called a GRATUITY. I think in this instance it has two meanings – GRATIS – or free, you as the customer give FREE MONEY to a wait staff. As the server it mean GRATEFUL, you provide good service and then you get said FREE MONEY.

I give tips based on service. I don’t think I should ever have to freely part with my HARD EARNED money if the recipient themselves hasn’t worked hard to earn it.

I work on phones, and no matter how shitty MY day is, it is never the fault of the person on the other end of the phone. And I treat people with utmost respect at all times. Its my job to do it, even if I have to do it through gritted teeth.

I been known to leave without giving a tip – and I never frequent places again that treat me poorly. I also TELL others about poor experiences, in hopes they don’t go there either!

But – when I am happy with services – I’m the type of tipper you DREAM of!!!!

Just two weeks ago, I gave a 150% tip. Yup, more than TWICE the cost of the bill.

She was wonderful, and deserved to be compensated for being polite, courteous, knowledgeable and efficient . . . .

Anyways, I’m getting distracted. . . . I went to our local sushi place tonight, and when I left the woman behind the counter asked me “Why you no tip?”. I told her simply that I didn’t think I needed to. . . .

I need to know what everyone else thinks, should I have tipped? When do you tip? How much do you Tip?

Background

  • I walked in, and I ordered take away
  • I waited 30 minutes
  • None of the wait staff or kitchen staff talked to me, beside to ask me not to sit at the table for “real customers”. I had to stand for the full 30 minutes.
  • I had to ask for chop sticks, soy sauce and napkins.

Besides that, when is the last time you walked into your local McDonalds, Dominos or KFC and had to tip to get take-away??? Am I a horrible person?

https://i2.wp.com/nyc.metblogs.com/archives/images/2007/03/tipping-table-money.jpg

Actions

Information

18 responses

1 08 2007
Mark Steel

That’s ridiculous. Hell no, I wouldn’t tip!

And I tip well — I overtip constantly. But for crap like that?

I’d’ve done the bigger insult — left a Penny atop the check. At least they’d know I thought about it…

1 08 2007
Joey

OMG! I LOOOOOOVEEEEEE that idea Mark.

So handsome, AND smart! 😉

2 08 2007
J9

I’m with you on this one Joey – I only ever tip if the service or person is deserving. When people are rude, unhelpful, ill mannered – why should they be tipped?

I love mark’s idea too!

2 08 2007
Mark Steel

Umm … heh … thanks … heh

3 08 2007
Nickelking

yeah I’ve heard from waitresses it’s better to leave spare change than nothing, otherwise they assume you forgot.

My tipping history is over on the linked site (gonna check this place out now, caught it from a linkback) but I’m a generous tipper and add to a tip if I feel more was owed, but ahve been known to tip only the amount to cover the income taxes that would be paid on my assumed tip.

3 08 2007
Nickelking

Sorry, forgot to say, definitely no tip there. with take out you gotta do something extraordinary.

3 08 2007
Joey

Jan, I think you and I are very similar!!

No problem Mark *wink wink*

Nickelking. . . thanks for stopping by! Your a more generous tipper than me!

3 08 2007
Joey

hahahah,

Thanks for the add Nickelking!!!

I glad you think I wasn’t wrong. I was starting to feel guilty! Like I should go back. . . .

4 08 2007
tonka

tipping is something about which i feel passionately. i specifically don’t tip if the service is crap or the server is inappropriate or invasive. i live in l.a. so a lot of waitstaff are wannabe actors. when i am out to eat or drink, i DO NOT want to hear about the waitstaff’s personal life. i stopped going to starbucks as i don’t want to tip there. the reason for this is that i ask how they staff is doing and they’re trained (i assume) to just get you the fuck out of there a.s.a.p. so the line of caffeine guzzlers can be quickly satiated. is that service? sounds more a like a conveyor belt to me. instead i go to a local place where you can sit and relax and read magazines while you guzzle your caffeine. there i chat with the proprietor, mgr and staff. we know each others’ names and they know what i want. that adds some color and dimension to my coffee experience. that, in my opinion is WORTH a tip.

5 08 2007
Amanda

Tipping is such an iffy subject for me, because I am a waitress. I know what it’s like to be stiffed by someone, and for the life of me I couldn’t possibly ever do it myself. I know what it’s like to have an off day and give half-assed service, so I can’t judge to waitress on my first visit anywhere. I give people the benefit of the doubt, and I tip the usual 15%. But this is when it comes to a restaurant where I sit down for a meal.

When it comes to a place where I am taking out food or coffee, it really all depends on the type of service I get. If it’s the robotic monotone type service some places give, I forgo the tip. If the person seems to be genuinely interested in a conversation and is helpful, I tip.

5 08 2007
Joey

Thanks Tonka and Amanda. . . . . I appreciate your opinions.

I think its fair to say, given the service I did get for my take away order, I was fine not to have tipped.

Its not like the meal didn’t already cost me more than 30 bucks. . . .

🙂

6 08 2007
Mark Steel

I delivered pizza, pasta and subs — and beer — to many fine folks for quite a while in my youth. I usually made at least $80/night in tips on top of my measely $2.85/hr. minimum wage, too. I even spilled and entire pitcher of beer on one poor bastard, and still got tipped $20 (which was good, because it covered the cost of the $5 pitcher and then some).

People tell me all the time, “A group of guys will always tip because nobody wants change.” “Old ladies won’t tip.” “Women get out the pocket calculators.”

I found the opposite to be true. The old ladies were actually my best tippers. Women, in general, were very generous. A group of guys would come in, act like asshats for a couple hours, and leave a dollar on the table.

It’s funny, tho, being a patron these days, and watching women pull out the pocket calculators…

6 08 2007
Joey

Hey! I don’t carry a pocket calculator!

🙂

10 09 2007
Man from Knobstock, Washington

What about tipping hotel housekeepers? I travel about ten days a month, and never left money on the dresser when I left my room until I heard from a business associate that he always left a dollar or two.

I certainly agree that if the service is lousy, why should a “bonus wage” (that’s what it is, actually) if nothing more than the bare minimum was provided?

11 09 2007
Joey

I’ve never left a tip for housekeepers, although when I was on my honeymoon in Belize I had a small change purse with US coins that disappeared from the drawer with my underware!

9 11 2007
Nobumitsu Katsura

Re:When to Tip— Sir, here in Japan I’never heard , at my age of 70, such tipping custom at sushi restaurant. Sushi artisan, if being tipped, will feel insulted and get mad to the guest.
Such is absolute if he has limited skill and famed because he may ask
astonishingly high price to the guest, which of course include tipping even
the guest can’t imagine.

Is it really Japanese sushi shop? Is she a Japanese?

9 11 2007
Nobumitsu Katsura

Re:When to Tip— Sir, here in Japan I’ve never heard , at my age of 70, such tipping custom at sushi restaurant. Sushi artisan, if being tipped, will feel insulted and get mad to the guest.
Such is absolute if he has limited skill and famed because he may ask
astonishingly high price to the guest, which of course include tipping even
the guest can’t imagine.

Is it really Japanese sushi shop? Is she a Japanese?

21 01 2008
Nobumitsu Katsura

I ask you a favor.
I wrote to your web on tipping the other day I don’t know the content of which
is appropriate or not.
My concern is my e-mail address can detect by google.
Would you be kind enough to delete my e-mail address in order to prevent possible trouble.

Leave a Reply

