Laminated List

19 06 2007

The famous episode of Friends was on the other day, and got me thinking about who I would put on my own laminated list

As described on Wikipedia:

A laminated list, sometimes called a freebie list, is a short list of celebrities agreed on by a couple as so attractive to one partner that he or she has standing permission to sleep with any of them if the opportunity, however unlikely, ever arises. The idea was popularized by the TV series Friends, and has since become a larger trend, showing up for example on blogs and online forums.

The list is laminated, really or figuratively, to indicate that the names once chosen will not be changed. One convention is that the list include only celebrities and not friends or acquaintances, in order to make it more palatable to the creator’s significant other–because the situation is unlikely and because there is no risk of bringing in personal feelings about real acquaintances.

My list is as follows:

  1. Daniel Craig
  2. Christian Bale
  3. Jude Law
  4. David Usher (from Moist)
  5. Prince William

    No explanation is required for your choices. . . . but I’m curious, who is on your laminated fantasy freebie list?

    ***Edit***

    I’ve decided to make my laminated list 8, that way in the interest of keeping this ‘interesting’ I’m adding a few ladies into the mix.

    These are in no particular order:

    1. Daniel Craig
    2. Christian Bale
    3. Jude Law
    4. David Usher (from Moist)
    5. Prince William
    6. Kate Beckinsale
    7. Daisy Fuentes
    8. Sienna Miller

    .

    .

    .

    .

    .

    .

    picture source : I hope someone picks up on the humor of my selected image for this entry. I’m genius!

    Actions

    Information

    43 responses

    19 06 2007
    brahnamin

    yeah. bloody brilliant. 😉

    but there are no girls on your list. 😳

    *le Sigh*

    i have no such list. my wife thinks i do, but she’d be wrong if she started guessing celebrattys

    19 06 2007
    Joey

    I edited and made a list that included some ladies. . . . hahahahahah

    I don’t believe you don’t have such a list, everyone has a list.

    I am 210% committed to Colin (Heck, I’ve already been faithful for more than 11 years!)

    But I’d be lying if I didn’t have a “list”. I’ve been making Colin figure out his list too.

    so far he has Keira Knightly and Lucy Lui on his.

    We discussed this at great length last night, as I wanted to add two paintball players to my list. And Colin said I couldn’t for two reasons 1) They aren’t celebrity enough for the general public to know their names 2) I know them. (so that breaks the original rules)

    Even if you just look at it as a list of Actors that you find attractive. . . .

    I think I could add another 5 or 6 to my list. . . . .

    😉

    19 06 2007
    brahnamin

    KK & LL
    brave man

    if my wife posts such a list i might be induced to do the same.

    regardless, i would never make that deal with her, no matter how unlikely the chances

    19 06 2007
    Joey

    See, I agree with you there. . . . .

    I’m not sure I’d actually ‘go through with it’ even if the opportunity (how ever far fetched and ludicris it is) actually presented itself . . . . .

    But all in all, making the list is fun! 🙂

    19 06 2007
    brahnamin

    sure for girls.

    for boys it is a trap, a trick, future ammunition for some not so distant future fight.

    19 06 2007
    brahnamin

    and now i have to go start dinner.

    19 06 2007
    Christine Hann

    Really Sienna Miller? Jude Law’s ex right? Yeah, I think she’s pretty ordinary, I don’t see the awe with her. Glad to see my husband isn’t on the list, although I guess he’s not a celebrity, just in the Toronto tower. I don’t have a list either, I can’t really think of anyone, especially to laminate in a list. I get celebrity crushes but then they fade, like Brad Pitt and Tom Cruise. Not going to give Tom any of my money to see his flicks, and I’m so over Brad. Maybe I would like to have a list of celebrities I would like to hang out with, I’ll start it:
    1. Lorelei Gilmore (yes, the character not necessarily the actress)
    2. Tim McGraw, ok maybe he would be on the laminated list
    3. Paula Abdul, I want to get to the bottom of her weirdness and then tell Randy to shut-up everytime I hear him say ‘dawg’
    4. Ryan Hann – ok he’s a celebrity in the making, Canadian Idol winner 2026, just ask his Kindermusik teacher, just kidding, and I already hang out with him all the time!
    5. Jennifer Aniston

    I’ll have to think some more.

    19 06 2007
    Christine Hann

    One more thing, Tim could keep his hat on.

    19 06 2007
    Joey

    hahahahha.

    awesome list Christine. . . . you make me laugh.

    Am I the only one BRAVE enough to admit a laminated list, surely there are more freakos out there like me.

    (I put Sienna Miller because gawd to I love her style and clothing, plus, since this list is totally ficitional, I imagine meeting them together. I’d like to listen to conversations/fights between those two)

    🙂

    19 06 2007
    Joey

    I’m watching Miami Ink, so I feel its important to say I also think Ami James is hot! 🙂

    20 06 2007
    Christine Hann

    Ami is definitely hot in that dirty kind of way.

    20 06 2007
    Joey

    big time.
    😉

    don’t you want to rub his bald head??

    Yummy

    20 06 2007
    Katie

    Your post hits close to home. I’ve never seen that episode, my bad.
    BUT I’ve always had my own list. I’ve only allowed myself 1 person though.
    A few years back it was Matt Damon. Now….it’s …….
    Christian Bale!!!!!! HE IS SO HOT! Yummy. Maybe you could post some naked pics of him…not during The Machinist though.
    I like a little meat! 😉
    K

    20 06 2007
    Joey

    I love Christian Bale.

    Ever since Newsies.

    Gawd I loved Newsies.

    20 06 2007
    newhoosier

    :popcorn:

    20 06 2007
    Joey

    thats not an answer, New Hoosier.

    Soooooo,

    who is on your list??

    21 06 2007
    newhoosier

    well, my wife actually asked me a similar question in the supermarket last night. I don’t have a list, but if you just want to know what I think is beautiful, I’ll give you a few.

    In their prime, based only on looks, and in no particular order:
    Elizabeth Hurley
    Keri Russell
    Daisy Fuentes

    21 06 2007
    newhoosier

    Hmmm, that was only half of what I wrote, I don’t know what happen to the rest. I gave you about 7 names, but whatever, those three are fairly diverse in their appearance

    21 06 2007
    Joey

    Well, Daisy Funetes I understand. I put her on my list. hahahahahah.

    Elizabeth Hurley might be a little old for me.

    Keri Russell with her pre-cut “Felicity” hair. . . .

    21 06 2007
    Joey

    I’m curious what the other 4 were. . . .

    21 06 2007
    Jo-Ann

    I am surprised that Jude Law is on your list – haven’t you seen the infamous nude pictures of him showing how “little” he is? They might change your mind forever!
    And Prince William? Don’t you think Harry is the hotter prince?

    21 06 2007
    Joey

    I don’t know why I like British guys. . . . . .

    The truth of the matter (as I’ve been told 😉 ) Is that you get an awesome accent, or. . . . . . .well. . . . . . you know what I mean.

    I like the accent. I adore the accents. Accents ROCK!

    I agree that Harry is the ‘hotter’ of the two princes. . . .but there is just something about a guy who is going to be king. That kinda rocks!

    21 06 2007
    brahnamin

    joey-an agist?-would sean connery be too old?

    for my money hurley has aged better than most actresses

    21 06 2007
    Joey

    Hey!

    “in real life” I’m hardly agist, but this IS a fantasy list. . . . on my fantasy list, she is too old for me

    😉

    I agree though, beautiful and timeless for her age. . . . .

    22 06 2007
    newhoosier

    1) I did stipulate in their prime which, would be an Elizabeth Hurley at her best age

    2) There’s no point about the other 4.

    3) I don’t know why I’m explaining this, but the size of a “man” can vary greatly at any given time, so just because he looks “small” doesn’t mean anything. He could be quite big when it counts. Didn’t you ever see the Seinfeld episode about “shrinkage” ?

    22 06 2007
    Joey

    yeah yeah yeah. . . .its not the size, its all in how you use it. . . . .

    23 06 2007
    newhoosier

    no, i didn’t say size didn’t matter. I said size at noon isn’t related to size at midnight. I’m sure size does matter, but I am trying to keep from being explicit. If you need me to spell it out, I can. This is something almost every guy knows, but girls don’t necessarily.

    23 06 2007
    Joey

    hahahahah.

    No, I got it.

    You should go back and read my post about DANIEL CRAIG naked.

    I defended his ‘size’ quite a bit in that one. . . . ..

    23 06 2007
    brahnamin

    timeless for her age?

    what a delightful contradiction :mrgreen:

    24 06 2007
    Joey

    yeah. . . i wasn’t paying much attention.

    How about we say, she has a timeless look – even for her age. . . .

    🙂

    25 06 2007
    brahnamin

    erm, still a delightful contradiction, but okay . . .

    25 06 2007
    Joey

    Either way, she ain’t on my list.

    hahahahahaha

    😉

    25 06 2007
    The Brooklyn Boy

    Caught your post while checking my site’s Google search status. My current five: Jessica Alba, Jessica Biel, Shakira Melyssa Ford and Emmanuelle Chriqui. … and I’ll throw in Kristin Kreuk as an alternate.

    25 06 2007
    brahnamin

    do you think celebrities keep a list of regular folk they’re allowed to do? like they just go through the telephone book and circle names or something . . . ?

    25 06 2007
    Joey

    I hope I’m on Daniel Craig’s list then 😉

    26 06 2007
    Christine Hann

    Hey – Just read that Sienna Miller’s clothing line is coming to Canada. Now you can fantasize about her and wear her clothes all at the same time. Kind of a chicken/egg scenario???
    Christine

    26 06 2007
    Joey

    woooooohoooooo.

    I’m excited now. . . .

    26 06 2007
    brahnamin

    and this is where girls differ so much from guys.
    we fantasize, the clothes (if there are any) are on the floor
    you fantasize and there’s 16 different outfits and a catwalk

    26 06 2007
    Joey

    I can appreciate good clothing disrobed from its wearer, but surely you jest about haute couture on the FLOOR!

    Are you mad, dear man? Mad?

    Say it for it, the clothes (if there are any) neatly set on a wood hanger . . .

    . . . .ahhhhhhhhhhhh. Thats the stuff. . . . . .

    26 06 2007
    brahnamin

    well, that explains why you sleep naked

    the thought of wrinkled pajamas must horrify you.

    ::

    side note to all you guys out there – the correct answer to *does this dress make me look fat?* is:

    *yes! take it off! quick!*

    ::

    [some poor barstid is going to die tonight and i’m going to be held liable ]

    26 06 2007
    Joey

    Thick woolen or fleece pajamas?

    YUCK!

    At least if I was to wear pjs, they would be silk. . . . .

    27 11 2008
    Kristi

    1. Christian Bale
    2. Daniel Craig
    3. Johnny Depp
    4. Gerard Butler
    5. Daniel Radcliffe

    (I’m only 22 so that last one isn’t so bad! haha)

    29 07 2009
    Martina-Mueller

    I cannot believe this will work!

    Leave a Reply

