Signs

12 06 2007

Source

So the movie Signs was on tv last night. I vowed never to watch that movie again, I made this vow for several reasons. Reasons which include that it was all together a crappy film, and because vicious attacking lifeforms from other planets scare the bejeebers out of me.

I made the mistake of watching the film for the first time by myself, when Colin was out of town at a paintball tournament. Needless to say I had two nightstands and window sill chock full of glasses filled with water. (Should I have needed to defend myself, of course)

In addition to the arsenal of H20, I also had at the ready a partial fence board with a couple of bent and rusted nails, with what looked like dried blood on tips. I had picked up the board outside our Woking flat (those that visited us at that flat won’t be surprised by that find). I might also have had, although I am not fully admitting to this, a night light. 🙂

Again, I feel the need to stress this, I am not afraid of the movie, I am afraid of the ideas that start rolling around in my head because of the movie.

I can hear the skeptics now, if there really is intelligent life on other planets why haven’t they visited us before? I don’t have an answer if they have or haven’t been here, but either way you can’t tell me you aren’t even a little afraid of the idea of an angry swarm of space men coming down to Earth and nuking the entire human race with one of their fancy and technologically advanced space rays gun thingies.

I suspect that if the Earthling race pissed off some aliens and a true invasion took place, it would all go a little more like War of the Worlds than like in Mars Attacks. (Besides who would vote for Jack Nicholson for president anyways?).

Perhaps living so close to Horsell Common (when I lived in England) the first landing place of the tentacled tripod aliens of the REAL ‘War of the Worlds’ by HG Wells might have put the ET and ExTra scared of aliens. But again, I’m not admitting to that either.

(this is one of the Tripod Alien statues in Woking Town square in Surrey, England)

I don’t remember being particularly scared of ET come to think of it, (Maybe a little scared when he is all white and pasty though), but certainly I wouldn’t have lent him my telephone for him to ‘Phone Home’ – this could be because I wouldn’t have wanted alien juicies on my phone or perhaps because I can only imagine what the long distance charges would have been.

I remember watching Star Trek : The Next Generation in my younger years, trying to learn the opening sequence.

“Space, the final frontier. These are the voyages of the starship Enterprise. Its continuing mission: To explore strange new worlds. To seek out new life and new civilizations. To boldly go where no one has gone before.”

So that in the event, should I ever come face to face with a Klingon or Romulon, I’d be able to tell them I’m peaceful. Surely everyone in the UNIVERSE watches Star Trek. Although even with my good intentions, I never did have a ‘Plan B’ should I meet the Borg. Where’s a Tribble when you need it?

For those that might be interested (and I’m sure if you are interested you already know about this) But the StarTrek.com website offers a full listing, picture and description of EVERY alien race encountered during all the Enterprise’s voyages, as well as the other various Star Fleet Command vessels here .

There are 346 different alien species, according to StarTrek.com, surely statistics dictate that at least ONE of them had to, at a minimum, vacation on Earth at some time, right?

That’s where ‘Unsolved Mysteries’ came in, while all these aliens were enjoying their vacations in cornfields around the Earth they kept being filmed and shown on TV. I wonder if Stonehenge was like an alien romantic Mecca like gaye Paris?

I’m sure the UFO flying saucers we saw on Unsolved Mysteries were similar to a Winnebago, or old beat up VW camper van. Surely if you drove the alien equivalent to a Ferrari, you wouldn’t pick a place like ‘Earth’ to vacation.

In addition to the crazy grainy videos and to the freaky ‘re-enactments’ there was the eerie and frighteningly spooky voice of Robert Stack as the host and narrator, and voila! my fear of Aliens was born. . . . (Official Unsolved Mysteries website)

Now, please don’t paint me as a tinfoil hat wearing X Files freak. I mean, heck, I never really watched the X Files. I’m someone who is afraid of a bunch of things-and most of said things fall under that huge, vague and pretty expansive umbrella of “the unknown”.

All I can say for sure is I’ll be sleeping with a glass of water on my bedside table for at least another week. . . . . .

Source

Actions

Information

20 responses

12 06 2007
brahnamin

only joey would post an alien booty shot 😳

you must’ve got right up under that tripod’s skirt to get that shot 😉

12 06 2007
Joey

Actually it was the only picture I could find of it. . . . .its a stolen picture from the all-knowing and all-powerful website that is Wikipedia.

🙂

Poor alien tripod!

12 06 2007
Shadow Warrior

What I find scary about Signs is that we can’t block its creepiness by saying “this will never happen”. I mean, you know that monsters don’t exist because it is proven, but with aliens….you never know.

12 06 2007
newhoosier

Unsolved Mysteries? That was some freaking stuff. I don’t know which is worse the alien stories or the crimes. Yikes!

12 06 2007
Joey

Shadow Warrior. . .. .What’s proven???? 😉

Newhoosier. . . . .Oh, I know. . . . . .it was the alien and ghost stories that got me every time though. . . .

13 06 2007
brahnamin

monsters don’t exist? do you NOT watch the news?

13 06 2007
Joey

Ahhhh, Brahnamin, thats a whole OTHER breed of monsters. . . . . they are even worse that ‘the unknown’ they are ‘the known’

20 06 2007
Joey

Hey, Lurkers. . . . . .
I know your out there. Its ironic how many lurkers there are on this post.
I’ve had over 1000 hits today alone on this post, and no one has replied.
Come out come out where ever you are. . . .

20 06 2007
newhoosier

wow, you get a thousand posts like it’s nothing. i get 10 a day on my biggest post if I’m lucky.

20 06 2007
Joey

hahahhaahha,

To be fair, thats why I mentioned it. I don’t normally get that many in one day for one post (unless I’m blogging about Daniel Craig Naked)

I normally average 700-1200 hits a day total for my blog.

Sometimes its more. Usually when I blog about someone naked.

🙂

20 06 2007
Joey

naked.

20 06 2007
Joey

naked. . .

20 06 2007
Joey

naked. . . . . .

Hey New Hoosier, How old is your blog?

20 06 2007
newhoosier

lol, you’re cracking me up. when I first read the first “naked” i thought that would help, but then there were more! lol

newHoosier, where Enough is Enough
Est. Feb. 2, 2007

😉 I should put that somewhere. lol

20 06 2007
Joey

naked.

naked.

naked.

My blog is September-ish.

I had starting blogging in may last year on “my space” but I moved all my posts over to wordpress in September. . . . .

naked.

naked.

naked.

20 06 2007
brahnamin

and now we’ve all seen joey get naked . . .

20 06 2007
Joey

was it as good for you as it was for me?

20 06 2007
brahnamin

i dunno . . . how good was it for you?

honestly i didn’t see much since your avatar cuts off at the neck 😉

20 06 2007
Joey

hahahha. . . .

I like necking. . . .

31 01 2008
Alex Harvey

My name is Alex Harvey.

I am a Year 11 student and I am writing this to enquire about being able to use on of the images on your blog/website in my GCSE Dida course. The link to the image is as follows:http://www.spiritualliving.net/straw%20glass%20smalll.jpg

Please email me with your reply as soon as possible.

Yours,
Alex Harvey

Leave a Reply

