Joey’s Crafty Weekend

1 04 2007

This weekend I spent alot of time attempting to be crafty.


1. MAGNETIC

I wanted some funky magnets for the fridge, so I used some magnets, a bit of Velcro Glue, clear flat marbles and some cut magazines.

2. HEADBANDS

I made a few headbands yesterday. Found a pattern online here. Love them. They work great.

3. DAMMIT DOLL / BIRTHDAY TIN

Sonia at work asked me to make her a “dammit doll” over the weekend, being her birthday next week I decided to make a birthday tin. I put the doll, one of the headbands, a bunch of the magnets and a few odds and ends and put it in a tin.

The poem that goes with the Dammit Doll is

When you want to kick the desk or
throw the phone and shout.
Here’s a little dammit doll
you cannot do without.
Just grasp it firmly by the legs,
and find a place to slam it.
And as you whack it’s stuffing out,
yell, “dammit, dammit, dammit!”

4. COMPUTER ENVELOPE

Colin wanted something to protect his beloved macbook. I’m not happy with this, I’m going to try this one again. I have never used polar fleece and didn’t really know how it works. Either way, this will do the job until I find a good pattern and some reading on polar fleece.

5. QUILT FOR RUBY (stage one)

I made a seperate entry for the quilt, you can read it here.

6. BABY SHOES

I’ve started a pair of baby shoes. These aren’t done yet. Very cool pattern (found here), I hope these turn out well.

7. BABY WRAP

I made this as a gift for the next baby shower I attend. I made a pocket wrap out of a terry cloth towel, and in each pocket I put a baby tools, like a brush and spoon and manicure set.

8. SEWING WRAP

I don’t have a sewing box yet, so in the spirit of trying to keep my sewing stuff organised I made myself a pocket roll for my sewing tools. I bought a quilted placemat from the local dollar store and done like dinner. Works perfect!

9. PURSE ORGANIZER

I got this pattern online from here, it works perfect in my huge Lululemon bag keeping things easy to find.

Actions

Information

8 responses

1 04 2007
terminallycute

Wow, you’ve been busy. I especially like the fridge magnets-very cute & what an orginal idea! I may have to steal it from you!

BTW, what’s a damnit doll?

~TC

1 04 2007
Joey

Hey TC,

thanks for stopping by.

You can see dammit dolls here: http://www.craftbits.com/viewProject.do?projectID=1141

1 04 2007
southerngirlmusings

Wow! What awesome projects you have completed…I feel like a slacker. 🙂 Thanks for the inspiration, I love the purse organizer.

1 04 2007
Joey

Thanks Southergirlmusings. . . .

Check out The Giving Flower – she has a pattern for purse organizer

http://www.thegivingflower.de/?p=920

2 04 2007
terminallycute

Ha! I love dammit dolls! *grinchuckle* Thanks for sharing, Joey. I’ll definately be making a few of these for gifts!

~TC

2 04 2007
Joey

if you check out the link there are even more little poems. . . . .

3 04 2007
solenne

I’m going to try making some of the headbands – Solenne is really grabbing at my hair a lot these days! Very nice pattern.

4 04 2007
Joey

Hey Jo-Ann. . . .

the pattern super duper great and very very easy.

No more than 15 minutes including the cutting and pressing.

My only advice is if you like the headband tight and snug on your head, use 4-4 1/2 inches of elastic, rather than the 5 the pattern suggests.

🙂

Leave a Reply

