I feel for the Emos

1 04 2007

What the heck is Emo?

By definition at Urban Dictionary

Emo is the genre of softcore punk music that integrates unenthusiastic melodramatic 17 year olds who dont smile, high pitched overwrought lyrics and inaudible guitar rifts with tight wool sweaters, tighter jeans, itchy scarfs (even in the summer), ripped chucks with favorite bands signature, black square rimmed glasses, and ebony greasy unwashed hair that is required to cover at least 3/5 ths of the face at an angle.

This weekend joeymoggie got an obsene amount of hits for people doing searches for Emo.  They were brought to my post about “Emo Kitty“,  which I posted last week many of my search terms were centered around “Emo Kitties” – being as that I blog about cats ALOT I guess that is how they found their way here.  Or perhaps it was my post about Rachel Ray and EVOO
I recieved several emails from Emos who where upset that I was making fun of them.  I apologise to all the Emos, I feel for you, the world really is out to get you.  Either way, to my email emos,  I explained that I did a google images search for “emo kitty” the pictures I used were what came up in that search. . . there aren’t many pictures which  incorporate both CATS and EMO.

Anyways, the whole emo phenomenon  facinates me.  I had several friends in highschool who dressed “goth”.   For me at least the difference between the people I’ve met who partake in both different subcultures is that Goth did it because it made them feel comfortable, Emo does it because everyone else does.   Perhaps, as mentioned, I might have this opinion because I was friends with Goths, I only know Emos.

Personality

When referring to a person’s personality and attitude, most definitions of emo hold that an “emo person” is candid about their emotions, sensitive, shy, introverted, broken-hearted, glum, and often quiet.[7][10]confusion, depression, loneliness, and anger, all resulting from the world’s inability to understand the author.[3] Emo poetry uses a combination of any of: a highly emotional tone, stream of consciousness writing, a simple ( Emo personality is also often connected with writing poetry, which addresses ABAB) or nonexistent rhyme scheme, references to the flesh, especially the heart, heavy use of dark or depressing adjectives, concern over the mutability of time and/or love, and disregard for punctuation, grammar, and/or spelling. Themes such as life is pain are common.[11]

Some definitions of emo hold that typical “emo persons” are likely to inflict self-injury, most often by means of cutting, burning, or otherwise mutilating themselves. [3][10] Some assert that it is cool within the emo subculture to pretend to be suicidal and self-harm,[12] or that participants self-harm purely for personal enjoyment.[13]

Criticism

In the years since emo music’s rise in popularity, both emo music and emo subculture have attracted sometimes severe criticism.[13] The term emo itself is sometimes used pejoratively, to suggest that the target is “overly emotional.”[7] Emo in general has been characterised as a fad which will be discarded and forgotten in the near future.[12] Emo music has also been compared to the teen pop of 1990s boy bands.[12][14] Critics cast the music as lacking any artistic merit, the fashion as “embarrassing” and members of the subculture as imagining or pretending that they lead harsh, painful lives when they actually live in comfortable, upper- to middle class homes.[12] Members of the emo subculture are portrayed by critics as melodramatic, self-pitying teenagers who pour their efforts into writing bad poetry and spend too much time on MySpace.[13][12][15] The current emo subculture has been called a “sad caricature” of what it once was.[13] Critics have gone so far as to contend that the emo subculture or emo music are likely to cause youth to commit suicide.[3][12] The backlash against emo music and subculture has become so prevalent that it may itself have become a cliché: one commentator notes that “hating emo kids these days is as hackneyed as emo itself.”[13]

I’m not sure I understand the draw of Emo, and how one decides to be Emo.  Much of the reading I’ve done about Emo says that the music and trends seem to follow the movement, rather than the movement following and evolving from music and trends.  In short, it appears as if music and fashion are being created to be sold to the Emos. . .  its almost like Emo was created as a niche consumerism tactic. .  .

So, all you little Emos out there. . . .tell me. . . . what the heck is Emo and why are you Emo.  I really want to know!

Links

What The Heck *is* Emo Anyways? 

How to Dress Emo 2.0

how to Dress Emo

Actions

Information

11 responses

1 04 2007
Emo Kitty « joey moggie

[…] that I’ve helped you, all you Emos can help me. . . .read here. . . and tell me what the heck Emo […]

1 04 2007
steven

lol, i’ve posted a couple of emo posts on my site. My friend is an emo in the closet and wont admit it. I just made a post about it. Come check it out and tell me what you think?

2 04 2007
Emo Kitty

I don’t feel for the Emos, because I am one.
Sure, we can be overly ’emotional and sad’ at some times, but we’re not always sad. We just act it. It’s our fashion statement.
We act sad, but it’s just for attention because either we feel the constant lonelyness or we don’t get a lot of attention at home/school/work/whatever.
Sure, some of us at like we need pity parties every day, but as an emo myself, and most of us won’t admit we are emo, we still can be happy whenever we want. And as some people call it ‘quir’, no, not all of the guys are gay, and not all of the girls are lesbo’s.
We are just like any other sexual oriented folks, and we are just like everyone else, just special in our own way. Have any questions and just give me a ring.
Not.
Just kidding, loves.
I won’t give out my personal info, but I can tell you I am emo and I am glad to give my advice any time.

3 04 2007
Joey

Thanks for that. I appreciate you time in replying.

9 04 2007
Sky

Hi my names Sky and I’m 15 years old. I get labelled as an emo, from my parents, friends, people around me, and teachers. I slit my wrists and write my own poery about my life and pain I go through everyday of my life. I amvery emotional,and I get depressed 24-hours a day. I got took away from my real parents when I was 6 years old because they use to lock me in this dark cupboard every night. Ever since I was 6 years old and got took away Igot use to the dark a lot and I started being depressd. My Uncle and Auntie look after me now, but they are alwayes out at the pub or night clubs. They come back home drunk, and never speak to me. The only thing my Uncle says is “Cheer up emo”, and my Auntie says “Going out with your friends tonight?”. My cousin is a Chav, and she bullies me a lot, and calls me “Dirty emo scum”.

I write my own poetryfrom myheart and my feelings and pain.
4 months ago my Uncle and Auntie took me to see this doctor who helps poeople like me with depression and self harming. He told me to take these tablets, and I refused. I then screamed and jumped out my window. I broke 2 ribs but sadly recovered. I alwayes want to commit suicide, and I feel that none cares.

Thank you for reading my life story, and I hope to let you know it took me a lot of guts to tell you people.
And now I have depressed myself even more now.

XxXxX

15 04 2007
steven

wow, thats fucked up

15 04 2007
steven

oh wait, i just clicked on the link and realized it took me back to your site. Haha im retarded, i actually thought that was a really emo person. Good Job

15 04 2007
Joey

Hey Steven, nope I don’t think so. . . . .

But i found the reply interesting so I left it. . . .

I didn’t write it, and I noticed it came back to my site too.

Thanks for visiting again. . . . .

22 04 2007
helen kives

LOOK YOU LITTLE SHIT …THINK FOR ONCE OF THE PEOPLE AROUND YOU AND WHAT YOUR ATTITUDE IS DOING TO THEM ….

22 04 2007
helen kives

YOU SELFISH EGO CENTERED FOOL

23 04 2007
Joey

Helen, thank you for stopping by and adding such colourful language.

Obviously you say before you think or read.

Please re-read by original questions, I simply asked ‘what is emo’?

And I put some online sources that illustrated what ‘the man’ says emo is.

I certainly am not a ‘selfish ego centered fool’ – and I am curious for you to explain what my ‘attitude is doing to them’

I invite you back to explain yourself, and this time please use ‘big people words’

Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

