Just for the Record, I love Americans

25 03 2007

 

Recently I’ve been having some fun with Brahnamin with the good ‘ol Canada versus the US of A debate.  Source.  Source.

Just for the record, I love Americans.

I think its easy (and often funny, see here) to point out the flaws of Americans.  But lets be honest, would the world be the place that it is now without the loud and boisterous cousin to South?

Shakespeare said “All the World’s a Stage” and that being said wouldn’t you prefer to have America as an agent, because certainly you’d get more time up in the lights. 🙂

Now, I adore Canada, and in truth I can’t imagine being anything other than Canadian.  This is one heck of awesome country to be citizen of and I can say that as I’ve tried my hand at being an immigrant, (and that didn’t really suit me).

I remember once doing tours of the Embassies in London England on one of my trips there, and when I was at the US Embassy there was a wall of pamphlets.  One in particular caught my eye, (and somewhere squirreled away I still have it), it was called “Backpacking for Americans”.  The first thing, as recommended by the government of the United States of America for Americans to do when backpacking

1.  Sew a Canadian Flag patch on your bag.  Canadians are often treated with more respect than Americans.

 I’m not sure where I was going with that. . . .  anyways. . .

 I don’t always agree with their policies on war, or their playground bully mentality towards other countries (Poor France), but I respect their patriotism and their continued strive for freedom for all.  They are a proud group of people, and perhaps that is something other countries could take a page from.  I also believe that Americans drive for total consumerism puts food on my table.  Both my husband and I work in industries that without Americans purchasing our goods our companies would not flourish, grow and be profitable.  So for that, I say Thank You America!

I might not always agree with the US, but I love them like family.

Actions

Information

7 responses

25 03 2007
brahnamin

>>> Sew a Canadian Flag patch on your bag. Canadians are often treated with more respect than Americans.

I’m not sure where I was going with that. . . . anyways. . .>>I might not always agree with the US, but I love them like family.

25 03 2007
brahnamin

erm. okay, using the little arrows might have been a bad idea (can you tell i don’t do much of my own coding)

[Sew a Canadian Flag patch on your bag. Canadians are often treated with more respect than Americans.

I’m not sure where I was going with that. . . . anyways]

*where we’re going with that* is that american tourists are generally vile arrogant tailpipes. set politics aside, forget worldviews, and you are still left with that one good reason to universally despise us.

[I might not always agree with the US, but I love them like family.]

yeah, we’re that cranky uncle you just can’t shut up (but you’d still rather folks didn’t know about)

if we ever get rid of *america :: land of the free and the home of the brave* i vote for *america :: eurasia’s ill-mannered stepchild*

(well you can’t argue it isn’t more accurate)

these days the best we produce say things like *screw france man! red-white-and blue all the way!* erm….

26 03 2007
Joey

kisses ill-mannered stepchild to the south!

hahahahah

26 03 2007
newhoosier

obviously, it would be a gross generalization to talk about Americans or Canadians in a certain way. So, I won’t do that here (because I certainly can make unflattering generalizations about any country), however, I will say that Canadians are our brothers and sisters. We moved out (declared independence) but you’re stilling living under the roof of our parents (Queen of England). Not that it’s better or worse, just different. How many Canadians have I met? 4? 400? I don’t know because national origin doesn’t matter to me but, I’ve never met a Canadian I didn’t like. 😀

I would gladly share a meal with a Canadian any day of the week. But the French–just kidding. 😉 I haven’t met any French people I don’t like either.

26 03 2007
Joey

newhoosier, what about French Canadians. . . . .

hahahah

26 03 2007
newhoosier

Two rights make a wrong. j/k French Canadians have done me no wrongs. But I wonder how they like living under an English monarchy

27 03 2007
Joey

I live in Quebec and I really don’t have a clue how they like living in a primarily english country. . . .

Cest La Vie!

Leave a Reply

