Fracas’ Pay it Forward

16 03 2007

Yesterday on Fracas, she encouraged her readers to go out and do something nice for someone else.

Similar to a chain letter email, I dismissed the idea, and carried on.  Really, why bother. 

Last night when Colin and I drove home from the West Island the Rue Ancients Combattants in Saint Anne De Bellevue was covered in a thin invisable layer of ice, the degel has started and its still cold enough at night to refreeze.

Those that are familar with that hair pin turn from the 40 onto the Rue de Ancients Combattants know how often the guard rail is mangeled because people take it too fast.

That coupled with black ice is a combination for disaster.  And it was.

When we got to the corner the accident has already occured, litteratly seconds before.  The smoke was rising out from the front of the black Jetta and the thick dusty and grainy contents of the airbag hovered over the car.

If you have ever been in a car that has had the airbag deploy (like myself) you are very sensitive to that smell.  It makes me ill thinking about.  The pain, discomfort and the fear I associate with that smell.

 We got our car past the accident and pulled over.  Other cars still streaming past, often almost losing control like the broken Jetta in front of us.

Colin helped the driver get the car over to the side of the road.  Unfortuntaly we were on the highway overpass, and there wasn’t a shoulder to put the car on.  He wanted to get back into his car and wait.

We made him get out, and wait on the other side of the median with us, and no sooner than we had jumped the guardrail another jackass comes barrelling around the corner and loses control of his car.  He was able to get it back in check, but he narrowly missed the back corner of the Jetta.

We waited until help came.

Actions

Information

5 responses

16 03 2007
Skywindows

Wow. You were in the right place at the right time. Have you heard how they are doing?

16 03 2007
Joey

no, we didn’t take the guys name and he didn’t ask for ours. . . .

I don’t think he was local because the locals sllllloooooooooowwwww right down for that corner. Part of the reason we didn’t spin out I think!

My car still smells like ‘airbag’ I tell you that smell makes me ill with fear.

I’ve already planned to stop at a gas station to buy an air freshener.

19 03 2007
fracas

Thanks for posting this Joey. I’ve been sick and so haven’t been back to explain my post. How awesome that you called it “Pay if Forward”. I absolutely love that movie. I don’t often cry during movies but that one gets me every single time! I actually watched it again on Sunday while sick in bed.

Anyway.. I’m glad you were able to be in the right place at the right time. Convincing him to wait with you probably saved him from worse.

19 03 2007
Sad News from Home « joey moggie

[…] and I saw the tail end of a single car accident on Friday, and we stopped. . .  . .how could we not stop?  I can’t imagine just driving […]

5 06 2007
Free Video Clips

Free Video Clips

No comments, just interest.

Leave a Reply

