In the Bag

8 03 2007

My first part time job as a teenager was a cashier at the local A&P.  It was the most wonderful part time job I could have ever asked for.  In fact, if I still lived in my home town, I’d still be working there a few times a month at least to keep the benefits.

Tonight I went to the be Loblaws in Vaudreuil Dorian, its a new store.  I spent about $150 getting some goodies for Chris and Christine’s arrivial tomorrow (did I mention we are having guests???)  Normally here in Quebec, you bag your own groceries, as the cashier haphazardly throws your bread and eggs about.   Tonight I was ‘blessed’ with a girl who said she would bag them for me.  She was cut from the same cloth, and proceeded to put things in bags that just shouldn’t have gone together.  . . .

What can I say, when it comes to bagging I AM A PROFESSIONAL.  I had very extensive training on bagging groceries.  (Who would have thought there would be ‘extensive training’ for that, eh?)

So, with that in mind I give to the world tips for bagging your own groceries (or re-bagging them as the case may be)

  • Have two or three bags going at any one time.  Bag like items together, or items that will be used in the same room.
    (eg.   Toothpaste and Shampoo together for the bathroom, cornflakes and sugar for the pantry.  Also, be sure to bag hot items together, Cold items together, and Frozen items together)
  • Fruits and vegetables together, if there is enough fresh produce try to seperate into what would be put into the fridge, and what would be ripened on the counter.
  • Build walls in your bags (this will make them more sturdy).  Use boxes or rigid items to create the walls.
  • Heavy items on the bottom, light items on the top (sounds like common sense, hun?)
  • Only bag like meats together (beef with beef, pork with pork etc).  Chicken should always be seperate, and wrapped in a freezer bag if available to stop cross contamination and the spread of salmonila.  Fish should also be wrapped in a freezer bag, and bagged seperate.
  • Keep small items like gum, mints, greeting cards and magazines aside and bag them last, these are the easiest items to lose and forget.
  • Some items should be bagged by themselves, like eggs and lightbulbs.
  • Bottles of pop don’t do well in bags with other items.  2 bottles of pop in one bag. (With many store bags you can cross the handles over the necks of the bottles to create a more secure handle to carry the bag with)
  • Any item with a snap-on lid etc should be bagged upright to prevent leakage.

Actions

Information

4 responses

8 03 2007
brahnamin

if you ever find yourself lost in virginia and in need of employment, look me up!

8 03 2007
Joey

woooo hooooooooo

9 03 2007
fracas

LOL Joey.. you can pack my groceries any day. People today are so bad at it I actually prefer to pack my own. I swear every time I shop somewhere that still does it, I come home swearing. The other day they put a bag of chocolate coated cookies right next to a box of deli hot food the hubby had picked up. SHEESH. Nothing on your list should be too hard for anyone with common sense and yet… still, they throw cans on top of bananas and neglect to keep things like dish soap upright so as not to pop the top and have it leak.

12 03 2007
Joey

Any time Fracas!

Leave a Reply

