Ethics & Honesty

18 02 2007

This test only has one question, but it’s a very important one. By

giving an honest answer, you will discover where you stand morally.

The test features an unlikely, completely fictional situation in which

you will have to make a decision.

Remember that your answer needs to be honest, yet spontaneous.

Please scroll down slowly and give due consideration to each line.

You are in Florida, Miami to be specific. There is chaos all around you

caused by a hurricane with severe flooding. This is a flood of biblical

proportions.

You are a photojournalist working for a major newspaper, and you’re

caught in the middle of this epic disaster. The situation is nearly

hopeless. You’re trying to shoot career-making photos. There are houses

and people swirling around you, some disappearing under the water.

Nature is unleashing all of its destructive fury.

Suddenly you see a man floundering in the water. He is fighting for his

life, trying not to be taken down with the debris. You move closer.

Somehow the man looks familiar. You suddenly realize who it is. It’s

George W. Bush! At the same time you notice that the raging waters are

about to pull him under.

You have two options — you can save the life of  George W. Bush or you can

shoot a dramatic Pulitzer Prize winning photo, documenting the death of

one of the world’s most powerful men.

So here’s the question, and please give an honest answer:

Would you select high contrast color film, or would you go with the

classic simplicity of black and white?

Actions

Information

9 responses

19 02 2007
brahnamin

honestly, i’d be too busy snapping pictures with whatever was in my camera.

but just in general i don’t use black and white film. if i need a pic in b/w i can photoshop it.

bloody hillarious.

i just know he’d be making that *O* face that people keep posting alongside monkey pictures.

19 02 2007
19 02 2007
fracas

LOL Joey. You got me. I could replace the “George Bush” with a whole bunch of different options though…

As for my answer?

Digital Camera – no film.

19 02 2007
Joey

true true, I don’t own a film camera . . .but remember you are a photojournalist working for a major newspaper. . . most pros still use film. . . .

I for one would, similar to my friend Brahnamin, would choose colour – which could be corrected and modified in the lab later 🙂

20 02 2007
skywindows

I love this quiz… Awesome. I would use color film to be sure to capture the whole moment.

20 02 2007
icedmocha

ROFL. This is great. I’d use black and white.

26 02 2007
Angeleyes

Joey… my God you are too funny. I literally laughed at loud at this one!!!

27 02 2007
2 02 2008
Jamal Penjweny

I am Jamal Penjweny a freelance Photojournalist & Documentary from Iraqi Kurdistan, I want to contact with your and if you have any festival and contest photography please tell me, this is short of my CV:

I am 25 years old. I remember when I was 9 years old I rented an automatic camera secretly from the store next to my grandfather’s house. I used the money I had been collecting. I only wanted the camera for a few days. I was going to take photos of the rural boys and girls.

It was just the beginning for me. I always dreamt of owning a camera so I would not have to return to the store to rent their cameras. Since then, I was fond of photography and it has become a part of my life.

My photos have been published in dozens of Kurdish Newspapers and Magazines, Websites, and International Newspapers.

I have published photos on International web sites and newspapers such as Al-Sharql Awsat , Institute for War and Peace Reporting (IWPR), One Worlds US Home, New York Times، Bloomberg, ASO A Kurdish daily newspaper, BBC world, Soma digest, SAFOTO USA, Flicker, Reutersو Photo Serve, Photo.net, Today’s News, Yahoo News , Photo Press Caroun ,Polaris images , Zuma press ، The Guardian Newspaper, Human Rights Watch, Chicago Tribune, World News, etc.

The focus of my work as a photographer is the tragedy and the humanity in Kurdistan and Iraq.

Description of My Work

Although I want no part of war, war leaves its mark on me and I have come to consider both what is happy and sad in our lives by its measure. Thus, in my mother’s mind, I was born ‘when the Iran-Iraq war started’, and my grandfather would recall he got engaged ‘during World War I ‘. It seems that war has become part of our lives. Our children do not know of peace and as a result grow up playing war. In Slemani, a child made a picture of a passenger plane which had bombs falling from it. Above the picture he had written ‘I can travel’. It made me wonder. I asked him, “why is your passenger plane dropping bombs?’ His answer was,’ Why? Is there a plane which does not throw bombs?!’ Through my photos I try to erase the idea of war.

Leave a Reply

