Highway to Heaven

1 12 2006

Colin asked me to pick him up from work last night.  At 11:30pm.  I was tired, it was cold, dark and rainy.  My least favourite driving conditions.

 The drive was going to take me about 45 minutes. I got out onto the highway 20, and started to drive towards downtown Montreal.   I drove over the Galipeau bridge, past the construction and out onto the dark stretch of road between Beaconfield and Dorval.

In my rear view mirror I saw flashing lights, I slowed my car right down to let the wailing ambulance pass.

The ambulance barreled by me with forceful urgency. . . as the rig overtook me I had this overwhelming flood of grief wash over me, a thick weight laid heavy on my hollow insides.   I sighed, I could feel tears welling.

I watched the lights flicker as it drove further into the flat plane of road ahead of me. . . . my car wheeled diligently forward, consistant but not at any speed.

Then the lights stoped flashing, and the ambluance slowed its hurried speed.   The urgency had passed.

road

I drove the rest of the way on ‘auto pilot’ the rain drops forming a hypnotic curtain in the beams of light out the front of my car, I watched the road.  My mind racing, and blank all at the same time.

Actions

Information

3 responses

1 12 2006
penseroso

So what do you think was going on in the ambulance? Trust your instincts on this one.

4 12 2006
Joey

I don’t know what I think, but it was an incredible feeling. I’ve never felt that sort of connection to someone else in my life, I just wish it didn’t have to be under the circumstances it was. . .

18 12 2006
Lusidvicel

Hello, i love joeymoggie.wordpress.com! Let me in, please 🙂

Leave a Reply

