Conspiracy Theory: Charitable Donations.

27 11 2006

I make make some enemies for this theory. But bear with me, I’m not all cold-hearted.

This is my rule for donations: If I make a donation to a charity, I don’t donate directly to ‘dieases’, and I much prefer local charities to national/international charities.

The reason why? I like to have some control of where my hard-earned money goes, and (the part people will hate me for) I believe there are already cures for all these diseases. (That would be the conspiracy theory part)

What if someone like Sir Richard Branson, Bill Gates, Sir Paul McCartney or any of the 48 Saudi Princes got AIDS or Cancer. How quickly do you think they would be ‘cured’?

These diseases are almost ‘natural selection’ weeding out people and controlling populations.

And then there are the jobs. Millions of people around the world make their lively hood by working in Research and Development of drugs and treatments. The doctors, nurses and therapist who deal with the sick. There are a thousand different sectors who work directly or indirectly with these diseases.

Then there is this very cynical & skeptical part of me that questions if this charity is in fact who they say they are. Think about all the ‘charities’ that popped up after the Tsunami in Thailand, or after Katrina. They say over 9 million dollars was raised by false charities after Katrina alone. And what about all the people who took advantage of the Red Cross ‘debit cards’ at the same time??

This time of year is especially rampant for charities collecting. . . my pointers are

  • Donate locally whenever you can. You’ll be able to see your money at work.
  • Donate to charities that your friends or family work directly with.
  • Always get a receipt for your donation. Many ‘true’ charities will provide you with one, even if it cannot be used for tax purposes (usually only donations over $25.00 can be used for tax purposes)
  • Donate ‘stuff’ rather than money. Clean out your cupboards of food you don’t need, clean out your closet of un-wanted clothes (launder first), shoes, books, media, old cell phones can all be donated)
  • Choose a charity that is important to you and your family. Perhaps one that directly helped your family.
  • Donate your TIME rather than your money. Volunteer.
  • Pick a set amount you will donate for the year, choose a limited number of charities to donate to, and stick to your guns about it.

My main yearly donation is to Ronald MacDonald Houses of Canada (A House where families of terminally ill children can stay while their child is in hospital). I also donate small amounts to Children’s Wish Foundation of Canada, Children’s Literacy, Animatch Animal Rescue, and I alway buy a Poppy every year.

Actions

Information

3 responses

27 11 2006
heliocentric

good. I totally agree. You first mend your house before trying to fix the neighbor’s. Now thatI have rea dmost fo your latest entries I know you love cats. I like to draw them and thanks for visiting.

28 11 2006
Joey

Thats a good way of putting it,”You first mend your house before trying to fix the neighbor’s”

I’ll have to remember that. . . . .

6 10 2011
Suzi

Hmm…what happened to “love thy neighbor as thyself”? I don’t think Jesus would support the “mending your house first” method. And how about Steve Jobs dying of cancer? Does that mess with your conspiracy theory? I’m pretty sure he could afford the best treatment, but the cure just isn’t out there. I agree with some of your ideas (donating locally, donating time – although the Bible tells us that we should give of our money and possessions as well) but not with your reasoning.

Leave a Reply

